|
Re: SurvivalRing website issues...an update...islamic connection to the hack att
|
Rich Fleetwood
|
Aug 02, 2007 15:18 PDT
|
HI friends,
Here is an update to the hack attack on SurvivalRing yesterday, as mentioned
in the email below.
This hack attack seems to have darker overtones than I originally suspected.
While I believe the hack was as I stated yesterday ( a web bot spamming
program, which gained access to the site via php script vulnerabilities),
I've done a bit more research on the destination website that all the spam
links were pointing to.
Every one of the nearly fifty hidden links point to a hacked website hosted
in the middle east...
hxxp://qasweb.org/library/universe/online/?page=49 (link disabled on
purpose)
A quick search found an arabic language based website is the home of
http://qasweb.org/
This is the Qatif Astronomical Society forum website...in Arabic.
You can view a mostly translated into english version here (google cache
file)
http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=ar&u=http://www.qasweb.org/&sa=X&oi=translate&resnum=1&ct=result&prev=/search%3Fq%3D%2Bhttp://qasweb.org/%26hl%3Den%26safe%3Doff%26sa%3DG
Following the path of the hacked files, we see this...
http://www.qasweb.org/library/
which gives a directory listing of several ebooks on astronomy. Adding the
next sub folder of the hacked site gives us this, and a few images
http://www.qasweb.org/library/universe/
again giving us info on the next location, the /online/ folder, which shows
an update done to the folder at
02-Aug-2007 04:33
their time.
Clicking on the /online/ folder (DANGER>>>DON'T DO IT!) opens the folder,
where there is contained an index.htm file, which automatically forwards you
to
http://online-inform.biz/pharma/search.php?q=cialis
A spammers paradise...DO NOT CLICK ON ANYTHING THERE....don't support this
stuff.
Next, a google search for the Qatif Astronomical Society brings us to this
page,
http://www.jas.org.jo/arab.html
Where we find that the Qatif Astronomical Society is based in Saudi
Arabia...and
as you know by reading the daily news, the US has had a lot of issues with
Islamacists
targeting US citizens, military, and interests, while either in Saudi
Arabia, or near.
Whether or not the Qatif Astronomical Society is part of this, I can only
say that
all the hidden links go to their website, to a hidden (and possibly
overlooked folder on their site),
and then forward to the spam selling website.
I've been told my site is considered important (yes, really) in some mighty
high places,
and just recently (this week)...from more than one source.
With these two pieces of information, the source of the problems originating
from the
middle east, and the potential to wreak havoc with search engine standings
for the
SurvivalRing website and therefore cause problems with Americans finding all
the life
saving info on the site, it is very disconcerting.
If an orchestrated attempt HAS been made, rest assured I will be forwarding
this info
to the proper authorities.
Again, thanks to all of you for your longterm support of SurvivalRing these
past ten years.
Who knew that in 1997, when I started this website up, that we could have
such a global reach
and help so many people in times (or before times) of need.
Look for any updates on this story at my blog, which can be found at
http://www.cosmicechoes.org
Rich
On 8/2/07, Rich Fleetwood <rafl-@gmail.com> wrote:
| |
HI Friends,
Sometime after midnite this morning, Aug. 1st, SurvivalRing's entire
|
website was hacked by a bot program that added spam link code to over 110
directories into the index webpages. This is causing some pages and web
sections to not load.
| |
The site should mostly work without issue but some pages may be slow to
|
load. The issue is simply hidden links, not any kind of malicious
software...simply a nasty rotten way to create links to a horrible website
hidden on some poor slubs website, trying to sell crap like cialis. My site
was not the only one affected on the server...and this issue has affected
lots of folks.
| |
It's a mess but it's not a major disaster...but I'm going to be busy for
|
most of the next couple of days, cleaning the code out.
| |
Sorry for the inconvenience...
Rich
|
--
//* ----- How to contact me ----- */
Richard Fleetwood
2006 New Century Scholar Winner for Wyoming
All-USA Academic Team 2006 (USAToday/PTK) 2nd Team
A.A.S. Computer Networking Tech-WebDevelopment-2006
A.A.S. Electronic Media Production-2005
Telly Award Winning Video Producer -June 2005
Member - CERT, PTK, IAEM, SPJ
FEMA Certificates - Radiological Emergency Mgt, Emergency Program Mgr.
Student Senate, Central Wyoming College
Phi Theta Kappa Chapter President
FEMA C.E.R.T. Program Responder
InfraGard Member - Denver Chapter (FBI)
Certified Storm Spotter
Founder/Director - SurvivalRing, Civil Defense Now, MyFalloutShelter.com,
and The Blast Shelter
http://www.survivalring.org (main)
http://www.cosmicechoes.org (blog)
=== My contact info: ===
P.O. Box 729
Riverton, Wyoming 82501
(home) 307-856-6101
|
|
 |
|