|
RE: AOL Blocking e-mails
|
Iwan Thomas
|
Oct 20, 2003 02:47 PDT
|
This is a multi-part message in MIME format.
------=_NextPart_000_001D_01C396F7.98CBD6D0
Content-Type: text/plain;
charset="us-ascii"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
And just to prove it, here's part of the message I get when I try to send a
mail directly to your address. I think AOL is just trying to make things
awkward for its competitors!
Iwan
A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:
jwmlt-@aol.com
SMTP error from remote mailer after initial connection:
host mailin-03.mx.aol.com [64.12.137.121]: 554-(RLY:B1) The information
presently available to AOL indicates this
554-server is generating high volumes of member complaints from AOL's
554-member base. Based on AOL's Unsolicited Bulk E-mail policy at
554-http://www.aol.com/info/bulkemail.html AOL may not accept further
554-e-mail transactions from this server or domain. For more information,
554 please visit <http://postmaster.info.aol.com/>
http://postmaster.info.aol.com.
-----Original Message-----
From: Iwan Thomas [mailto:iw-@iwanthomas.plus.com]
Sent: 20 October 2003 10:44
To: ee_gra-@topica.com
Subject: RE: GRAPEVINE: AOL Blocking e-mails
That's because it went via the Topica server not directly from my ISP!
I've sent e-mails to two AOL addresses from both Plus.net and btinternet
this morning and had them all bounced. Plus.net technical support are trying
to contact AOL to get the block removed.
Iwan
I'm an AOL subscriber and have obviously received your current email
message. I haven't as yet received any information from AOL to the effect
that they are blocking messages in the way you suggest.
Regards,
John Lewis MITI
Technical Translator
------=_NextPart_000_001D_01C396F7.98CBD6D0
Content-Type: text/html;
charset="us-ascii"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
<HTML><HEAD>
<META HTTP-EQUIV="Content-Type" CONTENT="text/html; charset=us-ascii">
<TITLE>Message</TITLE>
<META content="MSHTML 6.00.2800.1264" name=GENERATOR></HEAD>
<BODY>
<DIV><SPAN class=011564509-20102003><FONT face=Arial color=#0000ff size=2>And
just to prove it, here's part of the message I get when I try to send a mail
directly to your address. I think AOL is just trying to make things awkward for
its competitors!</FONT></SPAN></DIV>
<DIV><SPAN class=011564509-20102003><FONT face=Arial color=#0000ff
size=2></FONT></SPAN> </DIV>
<DIV><SPAN class=011564509-20102003><FONT face=Arial color=#0000ff
size=2>Iwan</FONT></SPAN></DIV>
<DIV><SPAN class=011564509-20102003><FONT face=Arial color=#0000ff
size=2></FONT></SPAN> </DIV>
<DIV><SPAN class=011564509-20102003><FONT size=2>
<P>A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:</P>
<P>jwmlt-@aol.com</P>
<P>SMTP error from remote mailer after initial connection:</P>
<P>host mailin-03.mx.aol.com [64.12.137.121]: 554-(RLY:B1) The information
presently available to AOL indicates this</P>
<P>554-server is generating high volumes of member complaints from AOL's</P>
<P>554-member base. Based on AOL's Unsolicited Bulk E-mail policy at</P>
<P>554-http://www.aol.com/info/bulkemail.html AOL may not accept further</P>
<P>554-e-mail transactions from this server or domain. For more information,</P>
<P>554 please visit </FONT><A href="http://postmaster.info.aol.com/"><U><FONT
color=#0000ff size=2>http://postmaster.info.aol.com</U></FONT></A><FONT
size=2>.</FONT></P>
<P><SPAN class=011564509-20102003><FONT
size=2></FONT></SPAN> </P></SPAN></DIV>
<BLOCKQUOTE dir=ltr
style="PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #0000ff 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
<DIV></DIV>
<DIV class=OutlookMessageHeader lang=en-us dir=ltr align=left><FONT
face=Tahoma size=2>-----Original Message-----<BR><B>From:</B> Iwan Thomas
[mailto:iw-@iwanthomas.plus.com] <BR><B>Sent:</B> 20 October 2003
10:44<BR><B>To:</B> ee_gra-@topica.com<BR><B>Subject:</B> RE: GRAPEVINE:
AOL Blocking e-mails<BR><BR></FONT></DIV>
<DIV><SPAN class=138504109-20102003><FONT face=Arial color=#0000ff
size=2>That's because it went via the Topica server not directly from my
ISP!</FONT></SPAN></DIV>
<DIV><SPAN class=138504109-20102003><FONT face=Arial color=#0000ff
size=2></FONT></SPAN> </DIV>
<DIV><SPAN class=138504109-20102003><FONT face=Arial color=#0000ff size=2>I've
sent e-mails to two AOL addresses from both Plus.net and btinternet this
morning and had them all bounced. Plus.net technical support are trying to
contact AOL to get the block removed.</FONT></SPAN></DIV>
<DIV><SPAN class=138504109-20102003><FONT face=Arial color=#0000ff
size=2></FONT></SPAN> </DIV>
<DIV><SPAN class=138504109-20102003><FONT face=Arial color=#0000ff
size=2>Iwan</FONT></SPAN></DIV>
<BLOCKQUOTE dir=ltr
style="PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #0000ff 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
<DIV></DIV><FONT face=arial,helvetica><FONT lang=0 face=Arial size=2
FAMILY="SANSSERIF"><BR><BR>I'm an AOL subscriber and have obviously received
your current email message. I haven't as yet received any information from
AOL to the effect that they are blocking messages in the way you
suggest.<BR><BR>Regards,<BR><BR>John Lewis MITI<BR>Technical
Translator<BR></FONT><PRE> </PRE></BLOCKQUOTE></FONT></BLOCKQUOTE></BODY></HTML>
------=_NextPart_000_001D_01C396F7.98CBD6D0--
|
|
 |
|